English or Engless

For Those who Reed and Right

We’ll begin with a box, and the plural is boxes; but the plural of ox became oxen not oxes.

One fowl is a goose, but two are called geese, yet the plural of moose should never be meese.

You may find a lone mouse or a nest full of mice; yet the plural of house is houses, not hice.

If the plural of man is always called men, why shouldn’t the plural of pan be called pen?

If I spoke of my foot and show you my feet, and I give you a boot, would a pair be called beet?

If one is a tooth and a whole set are teeth, why shouldn’t the plural of booth be called beeth?

Then one may be that, and three would be those, yet hat in the plural would never be hose, and the plural of cat is cats, not cose. We speak of a brother and also of brethren, but though we say mother, we never say methren.

Then the masculine pronouns are he, his and him, but imagine the feminine, she, shis and shim.

Let’s face! it! – English is a crazy language.

11 Comments »

  1. 1
    princess Says:

    Loved this!!! Brings me back to my days of grammar and spelling and sentences forming and punctuations decades and decades and decades and….. ago!!! Found you at 2000 bloggers sea of faces….

  2. 2
    Angelica Says:

    wow, if it wouldn’t be for 2000 bloggers you wouldn’t be able to visit my blog. 2000 bloggers project is really awesome, it make connections. thanks for dropping by. I just love the joke too.. it reminds me of some funny experiences during my school days.

  3. 3

    Yes, I agree English is a crazy language. While we only have five vowel sound, they have eighteen! Can you imagine that? We grow up with only five vowel sound and now we’re going to practice for thirteen more. As for your entry above, we used to practice that at the language school but until now I’m still far from perfect 😦

  4. 4

    Happy Valentines Day to you my dear. Regards to your husband and kid 🙂

  5. 5
    bebsie Says:

    kagulo talaga ng wikang ingles. gagawa ng rules tapos magkakalat ng exceptions to the rule! mas marami pa ang exception!

  6. just want to inform you that your blog has been added to the pinoy bloggers directory. tnx

  7. 7
    quotes Says:

    I think english is a way bit easier than any other languages, grammatically speaking!

    Who could forget our 4 semesters in school studying spanish, french etc? Memorizing all the verbs conjugation is a nightmare.

    Ayy…nahahalata ata age ko 😉

  8. 8

    Hi – really good site you have put up. I had a blast going through this posting. I wanted to write a comment to let you know that the design of this web site is very aesthetically sweet. I used to be a website designer, now I am a copy editor for a software development company. I have always had fun playing around with computers and am attempting to learn computer code in my free time (which there is never enough of lol).

  9. 9

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually not often do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you might have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the issue is one thing that not enough people are talking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  10. I visited various sites but the audio quality for
    audio songs existing at this web site is in fact superb.

  11. 11

    семейная новогодняя фотосессия фотосессия спб недорого идеи для фотосессии на улице зимой фотосессия в студии цена. фотосессия беременных москва фотосессия беременных позы фотосессия в москве цена черно белые фото беременных . фотографа на крестины недорого в москве в ожидании чуда фотосессия . новогодняя фотосессия для беременных фотосессии беременных осенью фотосессия в москве недорого новогодняя фотосессия влюбленных фотосессия семейная позы для фото осенью


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

